Emergency trauma

Emergency trauma

Trauma centers (or trauma centers) are hospitals equipped and staffed to provide medical care for patients who have sustained major traumatic injuries such as falls, motor vehicle collisions, or gunshot wounds. Trauma centers may also refer to emergency departments (also referred to as “casualty departments” or “accident & emergency”) without specialized services for the care of victims of major trauma.

How does a level 1 hospital operate?

The establishment of definitive trauma care facilities is integral to the development of a trauma care system. In the trauma care system, there is a network of definitive care facilities that provide a spectrum of care for all injured patients. These lead hospitals should be of the highest quality within the trauma system.

What is a Level 2 Trauma Center?

All injured patients can receive definitive treatment at a Level II Trauma Center. Level II Trauma Centers include the following components: 24-hour immediate access by general surgeons, in addition to emergency medicine, radiology, orthopedic surgery, neurosurgery, and anesthesiology.

What is a Level 3 Trauma Center?

Typically, level III trauma centers are smaller community hospitals that are capable of caring for moderately injured patients, as well as stabilizing severe trauma patients. This is in preparation for transport to a higher-level trauma center. The ability of a Level III Trauma Center to provide prompt assessment, resuscitation, surgery, intensive care, and stabilization of injured patients as well as emergency operations is demonstrated by the facility.

Any Query

If you have any question feel free to update us.